The Deer

Deer presence and awareness is always tantamount to safety when driving through wooded areas on the back roads.   Many people lose their lives when encountering the deer population on our nation’s highways, too.  They are so beautiful and yet they can be so deadly.  Be careful out there.

The Deer

Travelling up the interstate to Chicago yesterday,
while stopped in another costly traffic delay,
I spotted two deer to my right in the woods
just standing there, heads turned, gazing at the road,
their ears turning constantly, in their standing ‘stiff’ mode.

I heard a child say, “look, daddy, a deer” from the car behind,
but the deer didn’t move, as if they didn’t mind
the attention they were getting from the line of cars
stopped and staring at them from the road;
not even the noisy big rigs, anxious to move their load.

Sitting there in the car, my mind was set to dream
and I saw the two deer fall and I heard the child scream
and I wanted to get out of the car and run over to help
them but something held me back as the car started ahead
and I fell back in my seat and saw on my clothes, the red.

All I remember now, though, is the honk from behind
as if the car was saying, ‘get following that line’
for the line had moved ahead and I was still stopped
and quickly looking to the woods, I saw their white tails leap
then noticed the spilled red chili on me and the passenger seat.
I still don’t fully understand, the mind’s purpose of a dream;
They never make much sense to me, though I often like their theme
But now I have to keep my mind on the traffic along this road
and make it to Chicago where the weather, they say, is clear
and hopefully remember, when I’m driving back, the place I saw the deer.

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

I

2 Comments

Filed under wildlife

2 responses to “The Deer

  1. Ahh, the magic of a mind aware of more than a traffic jam! I like the subject of the post and the speculation in it and the juxtaposition of nature and that bane of human existence, a place where suddenly we’re stopped with a thousand other cars and trucks spewing out pollution. The deer would win, flag tails up, with me too.

    • thomag1

      thanks Mr. Davis. Your comments are really rewarding from a keen eye. thanks..for dropping by.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

