The Reverent Road

This is a very old poem written when I was 19 years old, the week before I left for the Army.  I must have been feeling a little apprehensive or scared, without trying to show it, about the near future, at that time.

I believe that there are times, all through our lives, when it is not only necessary to want to believe in something, but times when we…  have to….believe in something.  What that ‘something’ is, at that moment, is not what matters; what matters is how it bolsters your mind’s posture to ‘charge’  that fear, facing you, with ‘drawn sword’

The Reverent Road

I walked a road one summer day
knowing the end was far away.
For all I could see were the mountains ahead
into which the road I followed so reverently led.

It seemed I walked for many a day
upon this road which led the way.
And the mountains ahead still gazed at me
and as I became afraid, I thought of HE.

I feared the thoughts that filled my mind.
I walked ahead into the time.
And devilish thoughts preached my fate
and I walked the road with angered hate.

The reverent road I walked with fear.
The mountains ahead were now very near.
Could these mountains be the fate
that caused me to walk the reverent road with hate?

I looked to the sky which glistened with light
and thanked my GOD, whatever my plight.
And then the grass became my bed
And I gathered strength for the road ahead.

I was awakened into the day
by the glitter of the mountains which dawned my way.
And as tomorrow became today
yesterday’s fears passed away.

For the snow-capped mountains which I yesterday feared,
I now commanded as I steadily neared.
For in the night I sought in HE
and found that the mountains ahead, were me.

I looked up high to what was me
and said a prayer to Almighty HE,
who guided me through dark despair
when it was HE, I turned on without a care.

So again I started down the reverent road
fearless of the future, whatever it may hold.
’cause now I walked to enjoy life’s beauty,
for in finding myself, I had done my duty.

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

Leave a comment

Filed under God

Leave a Reply

