Gandy Dancer

Gandy Dancer

Standing on the platform while waiting for the train,
in between the north and southern track,
I watched a ‘gandy dancer’ who was working in the rain
standing on the platform while waiting for the train.
Once there was a moment when I wanted to do the same
and my mind remembers the kid in me, way back
standing on the platform while waiting for the train,
in between the north and southern track.

Up against the station house; standing, still, in stare
her blond hair whipping wildly across her face.
She looks to see the ‘gandy’ too, pushing back her hair,
up against the station house, standing, still, in stare.
Suddenly, a whistle bursts faintly in the air
and still she doesn’t move from her place
up against the station house, standing, still, in stare
her blond hair whipping wildly across her face.

Standing on the platform after getting off the train
in between the north and southern track,
I wanted her to meet me with a car up in the lane
standing on the platform after getting off the train.
Nothing here has changed, the ‘gandy’s’ working in the rain
my dreams were all of her, the whole way back
standing on the platform after getting off the train
in between the north and southern track.

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

2 Comments

Filed under trains

2 responses to “Gandy Dancer

  1. Your poetry is song and images that flow back into each other, spiraling ever onward.

    • thomag1

      You are certainly not hurting my ‘ego’…I know…I’m going to come out of my dream world one of these days….thanks

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

