Brothers Forever

In August, 2001, I lost my only brother to MS, which he had battled for a few years.  He was eight years younger than me and the better side of me.  He had the traits of my father more ingrained in him and was more free with his spirit, all of which he needed in the end.

We lived far apart and cherished the moments when we were together, spending most of our time singing.

We truly miss when we have lost.  We take too much for granted and fail to hug when we have the chance…..we are all guilty and we all pay.

It is the price of living the life.   Life is a privilege beyond our imaginations and we take a lot of it for granted fated by routine.  We must guard our precious moments.  To my brother…………

Brothers……Forever

Now the time is here;
You and I must part.
Maybe in my mind, not in my heart.

You will always be
deep inside of me
laughing, joking, singing
out your part.

Brothers…..forever
Always……..together
singing the songs we’ve both sung.

Brothers……forever
Always…….together
Always, forever
in my heart.

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

5 Comments

Filed under heart, Life, Love

5 responses to “Brothers Forever

  1. Ruth Gargano Donovan

    Awhhhh,John would have loved that!! I am soooo proud of you,love you bunches, you’re the best big brother in the world, and so talented!!!! Love you, Ruth

  2. really touching
    beautifully penned.
    Best wishes.

    • thomag1

      Best wishes to you, too. We go through life together…each in our own way, don’t you think? – my best to you..thanks for dropping by my site

      tom

  3. I am so sorry for your loss, Tom.
    This is a beautiful poem. Bless you.

    • thomag1

      I too about your sorrows, Eric. Writing about loved ones, gone on, seems to help. I can’t dwell on it too much…I appreciate your kindness and enjoy reading your posts…..my blessings to you and all those you love

Leave a Reply

