Cottonwood Stream

If I write a song for you
and speak of beauty rare
the words I use will all be true
if I write a song for you.
Each word will tell a different view
and paint a picture soft and fair
if I write a song for you
and speak of beauty rare.

Sitting by the lazy stream
leaning ‘gainst the cottonwood
my guitar grabs a sunlight  beam
sitting by the lazy stream
and in that moment, as in a dream
she fluttered in time to my Brazilian wood
Sitting by the lazy stream
leaning ‘gainst the cottonwood

It’s nice down here along the stream
on spring like days when she drops by
and even if it’s just a dream,
it’s nice down here along the stream.
and while I know, it’s quite extreme
her mystic beauty, I can’t deny
It’s nice down here along the stream
on spring like days when she drops by

Waking me gently with fluttering wing
brushing her self ‘cross my eye,
she winks and smiles from the guitar string
waking me gently with fluttering wing.
And I feel thankful for these days of spring
and for dreams and for her….the butterfly
waking me gently with fluttering wing
brushing her self  ‘cross my eye.

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

Leave a comment

Filed under fairy, heart, rivers

Leave a Reply

