Birth and Death

I have not figured out the complexities of my thinking.  I’m not always sure who is doing my thinking.  There must be forces in our energy flow that make us jump up when we didn’t think about jumping up, for example.

I am basically pessimistic about life, although I am not pessimist.  I am not morbid nor do I generally like association with the idea, of it.   But we are not at our best  – as we think our best is  – everyday; every moment.  Our ‘A’ game rests some days; sort of like mine, today.

Birth and Death

Birth and death are relatives;
really our only realities.
We’re born to die..but
who knows the reason why?

Is the earth a cell of humanity,
lost in the stream of infinity,
searching, changing,
challenging its right to be?

What is the answer; what can it be?
Who is the leader, where is the key?
It’s surely not in war and all his company.
Love is our only alternative.

Sickness is our sister, who follows every day;
Indifference is our brother, with worries in the way.
But what is deep within us, with eyes to give us sight
that we may see?

Reason, there must be, that I may feel your love;
that I may feel your warmth, that runs within my blood.
If God is not the reason, then relevant to what
is love?

We’ve climbed the highest mountains
and searched the deepest seas.
We’ve picked the ripest fruit
from all the biggest trees.

Birth and death are relatives
with alternatives to the key.
Reason there must be…. and being… is the reason
that there is God.

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

2 Comments

Filed under God

2 responses to “Birth and Death

  1. Interesting concepts and beautiful poem.

Leave a Reply

