Fairy Jolie

I dodge again the real world  – full of terror and killings and strong ‘negative portions’ in the news headlines and I opt for a walk down, back along the stream, where the sounds are of frogs and crickets and birds and rippling water over some lazy rocks, just sitting there, shiny smooth.

If I were a fairy, that’s where I’d go…..but who knows, maybe every fairy’s different.

Fairy Jolie

Sitting on a root ‘neath a large oak tree
down along the stream, at the bottom of the hill,
she sat all alone, sobbing, drinking grass tea
sitting on a root ‘neath a large oak tree.
I hid in the grass as she tangled with a bee
who quickly left,  leaving her still
sitting on a root ‘neath  a large oak tree
down along the stream,  at the bottom of the hill.

Standing up now and looking around,
her eyes gazing straight across the stream.
She’s a wisp in the wind, nary a pound,
standing up now and looking around.
What should I do in this moment, profound?
I don’t want to scare away this dream,
standing up now and looking around
her eyes gazing straight across the stream.

Dancing o’er the reflection, down in the stream
splashing the water with her feet,
her pointed ears turn to the flash of a beam
dancing o’er the reflection, down in the stream.
Cautiously panning, each move is a scheme
still daintily fluttering to a dragonfly’s beat.
Dancing o’er the reflection, down in the stream
splashing the water with her feet.

Waving at the dragonfly then flying towards the sun
where I watched her ‘til my eyes couldn’t see,
I ran down to the water where I saw her having fun
waving at the dragonfly then flying towards the sun.
The dragonfly, still ‘dancing’ there, I swear, said she would come
to dance -just whisper her name, though, nevermore have I seen, Jolie,
waving at the dragonfly then flying towards the sun
where I watched her ‘til my eyes couldn’t see

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

7 Comments

Filed under dragonfly, fairy, poetry, rivers

7 responses to “Fairy Jolie

  1. … we always tend to look for that comfort zone we needed in order to be free from all the bad news that are around us.
    Yes, it’s kinda cute to have “Fairy Jolie” in our thoughts every now and then.. 🙂
    Nice poetry!

  2. What a nice mood you have painted. As I read along I was thinking what a wonderful children’s book this would make. 🙂

    • thomag1

      thanks, Linda…..I get silly sometimes, don’t I? The news headlines everyday are really depressing and why not spend a little time in the ‘presumably’ unreal ether. my best to you! Thanks for dropping by and my best to the engineer…I was a combat engineer in the service…so I like him….haha

      ________________________________

  3. tinyfae

    What a nice way to start my day! Thanks for the inspiration and sweet little story to think about. And I agree with Linda – it would make a lovely children’s book.

Leave a Reply

