My Little Flower Girl

Such beauty there is in a field of wild flowers…..I’m sure the ‘flowers’ even sense it.

My Little Flower Girl

I saw a flower in the grass
standing over there
and oh, what pretty eyes, she had,
and oh, what pretty hair.

There were flowers everywhere
as far as I could see
but none as pretty as the one
that captivated me.

The twinkle in her petal eyes
as bright as diamonds rare.
The smile upon her petal face
something more than fair.

But oh, the pain to have to stand
and watch her every day,
to know someone will pick her up
and take her far away.

If only I’d been a flower seed
and planted by her side.
Would I’d seen her beauty or in
my blindness would it hide?

Her innocence makes me want to cry
but how happy she makes me feel.
She’s fresher than the freshest wind;
she’s something more than real.

But there’ll come a day when the trees are bent
and the leaves are all in a whirl.
I’ll say good-bye to her pretty smile
and the dream of my little flower girl.

14 Comments

Filed under flowers, Love, Spring

14 responses to “My Little Flower Girl

  1. So sweet !
    I love it. 🙂

  2. wooww!! so very sweet, and so beautifully kept together.. 🙂

  3. Ok I really enjoy that… super sweet and super AWESOME TOM…. Loved it… have a great sunday and enjoy your dinner hehehehe

  4. Really fascinating, I’m lost in the sweetness of this poem,
    Beautiful Tom….really.

  5. Julie Catherine

    Tom, this was an absolutely delightful poem – I loved it! ~ Julie 🙂

  6. Niceeee!! A sweet poem. 🙂

  7. A beautiful song this…enchanting as it combs through the fields. Well done, Tom.
    Cheers, Eric

    • thomag1

      I’ve always thought life to be a ‘song’..of sorts. I like your thoughts, Eric. You ‘read’ and appreciate and support many facets of life…….you appear not to dwell on perfection but life’s little attempts at achieving it…..I hope you keep writing and sharing with everyone…..it is inspiring. Thanks….hope you and yours are fine.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

