Here at the Station

It’s time to change this ‘header’ and thus, time to leave the station….change…we can’t ever stop it….so I guess we adjust and hang on…..have a cup of coffee and pie or something.

Here at the Station

Standing on the platform, looking down the track,
waiting for the ‘southbound’  to arrive,
the wind is whipping coldness down my back…..
standing on the platform, looking down the track.
I arrived here early, when all was black
to watch station life, come alive
standing on the platform, looking down the track,
waiting for the ‘southbound’  to arrive.

 

Here at the station where I’ve faithfully stood;
where the time has come to say good-bye,
dreams have staled like I knew they would,
here at the station where I’ve faithfully stood.
The gandy’s work is finally done; friends are gone for good
and it’s time for coffee and shoo-fly pie,
here at the station where I’ve faithfully stood
where the time has come to say good-bye.

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

2 Comments

Filed under goodbyes, trains

2 responses to “Here at the Station

  1. Very beautiful. I can relate it to one of my posts Life On The Train : http://allaboutlemon.com/2011/11/06/life-on-the-train/
    Have a great day and thanks for the wishes 🙂

    • thomag1

      I read your site a lot, dolly, even though I don’t always comment…..I’m new at this but you’ve been around a while and it shows….thanks for your support…tom

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

