Ode to Nancy

I read, recently, a poem that Eric at http://ericalaganfanclub.wordpress.com/  had written for his wife and its loveliness caught me off guard and I searched for and found something I had written for my wife for our 30th anniversary.

There are times when it is nice to go back and re-read and re-live earlier moments (‘beats’) in our lives that inspired us.  I thank Eric for the reminder.

We live on a major moraine and that means big boulders in the fields… still getting dug up or damaging farm equipment… and streams still carrying glaciated rocks.  So, for an anniversary present from me to Nancy, my wife, I bought four little flasks and filled them with dirt, water, rocks and air……wrote what they represented to me and, hence, to her, from me and ……..well….you know…..that was a present. (It’s not that I’m a cheapskate….I get tired of buying pots and pans, etc……haha……anymore, it is a nice, lovely dinner together at a place of her choice.)

But here I only present a poem I wrote.  If anyone is interested, I will post what I wrote about the flasks and their meaning.  This June, we will have been married 41 years so this poem has a little age on it…..Ode to Nancy.

 

Ode  to Nancy

Perhaps, we are, all of us, holders of dreams
we package, we bundle and tie
and keep in a stack, or a box or a chest
as each passing year goes by.

From the moment I saw you, I wanted to know you
for reasons that are hard to deny.
And your magical love-dust, still flutters my heart
after all the years gone by.

My Nancy, my Daisy, my Princess, my Babe
are names that twinkle in my eye
Who, though often apart, holds the key to my heart
as the years continue on by.

I still love the feel of your hand within mine;
Your kiss on my cheek makes me cry
And I miss even now the smell of your breath
as moments keep passing us by.

You are the holder, heaven sent from above
to bind up my dreams ‘til I die.
In my box are two daughters, a son and a wife
from the years that have quickly gone by.

I’ve  given you nothing that people can see
who look at the world through their eyes.
For what I have given you must be seen by the heart
in all of these years gone by.

So if ever you’re asked ‘what did your husband get you
for all of those years of strife?’
Say bottles of sunshine, earth, water and rocks
And a shared portion of his love….. for life.

The thirty years, hence, we’ve shared together
don’t make me, in the least, feel older.
but excited in anticipation… of our burning love
and the magical holdings of our folder.

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

8 Comments

Filed under heart, Love

8 responses to “Ode to Nancy

  1. Beautiful. 41 years is such a long time…and it’s amazing your love is still burning this brightly. I hope your wife loved the poem.
    And I am very much interested in what the flasks mean…

  2. Julie Catherine

    Awww, that was just beautiful. There’s nothing more romantic than having a poem dedicated to you by the one you love; and this was a very romantic poem. I love that you two have been happily married for so long – what an inspiration! Lovely photo of the two of you, as well. (And I’m intrigued by your flasks, too.) ~ Julie 🙂

    • thomag1

      Funny thing, Julie, the flasks just sit there….everything around them seems to change and move farther into time…

      ________________________________

  3. I very much lea this post/poem. Thank you. T

  4. This poem makes me see why you’ve been married 41 years. Happy Valentines day to you both!

    • thomag1

      And Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your loved ones, too, Linda Vernon…..you brighten my days with your sense of humor……but……Bill Murray? Where was Robert Redford or Paul Newman or….? haha

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

