The Four Flasks

The four little flasks idea came from my ‘imaginary ghost writer’ (earlier post) one day, which went along with the poem  ‘Ode to Nancy.’

My Love….To honor our thirty (30) years of togetherness, these flasks contain four (4) elements of God’s earth, I captured,  to honor your commitment to me.

EARTH’S  SOIL

To represent the “purity” of our love, I dug up soil from
among the roots of the 100-year-old Oak tree that stands
in the north pasture at the corner of the road leading up to
our house.

SPRING WATER

The bottle of water is from our creek/stream and represents the “fluidity” of our love, which has carried and will continue to carry us onward
to the destination of our life together.

GLACIER ROCK

The fill rock represents the stability of our love.  These
recently exhumed rock fragments were deposited by the
last glaciers which descended as far south as Illinois 10,000 years
ago during the Jurassic Ice Age.

SUNSHINE

Trapped in the clearest bottle are rays of the sun which are the
essence of life and therefore captured by me to represent the “essence”
of our love.  These rays travelled 93 million miles to sustain life
on this earth……and our love.

The WIND is not captureable;  a true “free spirit.”   It represents chaos, change, hope and new direction.

 It is to be followed and chased, but not caught.  It is dreams and horizons of a beckoning heart and echos of a beckoning call.  Listen!

These are your gifts from me to you for thirty years of bliss and commitment and a great time!

Happy Anniversary!   Love, Tom

6 Comments

Filed under anniversary, Awards

6 responses to “The Four Flasks

    • thomag1

      I call it romantic, but someone watching me dig up dirt and putting it in a little bottle, getting rocks in the glacier creek and the water and putting them in bottles…or catching sunbeams and trapping them in a bottle….I bet that was a sight……haha…..well, that could border on ….lunacy…..hehe…..I am what I am….a ” romanalunatic”

      ________________________________

  1. Nancy

    These four flasks were the most precious gift you have ever given to me. Thank you for all the years of your love and devotion and being there for me.

  2. Julie Catherine

    That is just so romantic … and worth of a deep “sigh” ….. beautiful. ~ Julie 🙂

    • thomag1

      That’s because you’re a romantic….it’s all through your work….keep pouring it out….the world needs more romance, don’t ya think? I’ve always been a hopeless one but the reality of the daily routine has had damaging effects on my romanticism. I’m trying to get back to it.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

