Up in the Bronx

 

 

 

I am not funny in all aspects; I can not make a funny joke, funny.  But I did want to get Julie Catherine’s nice logo on my site and it is not free so I had to write something (haha)….and….well….Julie has a great site to find humor, poetry, paintings, passages for the heart, practical observations about life, warmth, affection…..she has about anything you need to cheer up your day, which is why I visit there a lot.

Give her a try….and watch what you read, cause some things might make you cry.  And like Yogi said…”You can observe a lot by just watching.”

Up in the Bronx

Over on 161st Street and River Road,
up in the Bronx where the ‘Bombers’ play,
Yogi wasn’t as famous as the ‘sayings’ he told
over on 161st Street and River Road.
Like when talking, you’d think it was Morse Code
“The future ain’t what it use to be,” is what he’d say
over on 161st Street and River Road,
up in the Bronx where the ‘Bombers’ play.

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

5 Comments

Filed under baseball

5 responses to “Up in the Bronx

  1. Bravo! Well donel!

    One of my favorite yogi quotes is: “Nobody goes there anymore, it’s too crowded!”

    • thomag1

      lol what a knack he had…I hope he still has it…Casey Stengel was also like that with his logic and words…hope your day was ‘love – ly’ (Jeremiah Johnson is one of my favorite movies….forgot to mention that…hope knowing that makes your day….haha thanks, Linda for the drop-by

      • Your welcome Tom and I’ll have to check out Casey Stengel. I’ve never heard of him. Oh boy, new funny stuff (rubbing hands together)! Maybe I’ll 37 an I will watch Jeremiah Johnson on Netflix in honor of the day of love! 🙂

  2. Julie Catherine

    Tom, love your Medal of Humor with your poem – and while you may not be the world’s funniest jokester, your poem was really well done and made me smile, so you earned it, my friend. Good on you for being such a good sport and joining in the fun! You do Yogi proud! ~ Julie 🙂

  3. Loved the poem and the humor inspired by the Yogi.

Leave a Reply

