From The Day You Were Born

My only grandson will turn 10 years old in April and I wrote this for him when he was three years old.

From The Day You Were Born

The war started,Austin, 333 days
from the day you were born.
And I’ve watched you grow in many ways
from the day you were born.
And though the country’s now in a fight,
protecting freedoms is good and right,
and I pray all your life is bright,
from the day you were born.

Your Mom and Dad will always love you dear
from the day you were born.
And they’ll make things right and make things clear
from the day you were born.
And when problems do arise,
and tears drop from your eyes,
they’ll comfort all your cries
from the day you were born.

And remember their love through good and bad
from the day you were born.
And never forget even when you’re mad
from the day you were born.
For they’ll love you through life’s strain
during its sunny days and  days of rain,
and their love will be clear without blame
from the day you were born.

And when you’ve gotten older, the more you’ll understand
from the day you were born.
And much you’ll figure out, as you become a man
from the day you were born.
And when you’re old and gray
to your grandchildren’s questions, you’ll say
‘I remember many a wonderful day
from the day I was born.’

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Life, Love

3 responses to “From The Day You Were Born

  1. I’ve got tears in my eyes. This is beautiful. I have a 2/12 year old grandson. I’ll print this out for his parents. Just wonderful Tom!

  2. Oops! My grandson is 2 and 1/2 years old!

    • thomag1

      Oh…okay….haha….how time flies…he’s gonna be 10…I can’t believe it…we’re building a train layout together which gives us good quality time….my twin granddaughters live in Denver, who don’t get to see as often, of course. Congrats on your grandson….nothing like them, is there?

Leave a Reply

