Up on the rise

For those of you who have driven highways in the western United States…..the long stretches of open prairie and wide skies and nary another car around, you might remember that  there was  usually a constant wind to contend with,  and when you climb the hills or ‘rises’, that wind always seemed to be fiercest at that zenith point.

In fact, you had to assume that would be the case.  And if you were pulling a camper of any size, approaching that ‘rise’ became problematic, at best.

Also,  as you approached those ‘rises’, telltale evidence of a constant wind was usually the bent over prairie grasses and the battered and broken fences along the way.

 

Up On The Rise

Out where the highway….. rises toward the sky,
up where the howling winds blow,
you might see a hawk riding thermals way up high
out where the highway….. rises toward the sky.
Out here the hand of the wind is dry
and its strength commands the grass,  lay low.
out where the highway….. rises toward the sky,
up where the howling winds blow.

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

5 Comments

Filed under highways, road

5 responses to “Up on the rise

  1. Julie Catherine

    This reminds me of where I’m living here on the prairies in Alberta, Canada, Tom – except our rural roads and towns don’t look nearly that clean and well-maintained. Everything always seems to be layered with dust and grit – another reason I long for the mountains and lakes of British Columbia …. nicely written ~ Julie 🙂

    • thomag1

      Some states here in the USA pave their rural roads and some don’t. Of course, some states are more progressive than others….have more people to tax, have more money….what’s new….haha I’ll send you an email one of these days about a connection I had with Peace River back in the late 70s.

  2. I love this one! It makes me think of the pioneers coming over in their covered wagons and the slow progress and not knowing where they were or where they were going or what was going to happen.

  3. Winter is still haunting the roads around Continental Divide, NM. Part of the haunting, as you poem tells us, is long hours of wind. When the snow blows it gets dicey to be on the roads. When the sun is shining, but it is cold, the cold comes from the wind, although today’s wind was light enough. This poem is true in the way the wind is true.

    • thomag1

      “This poem is true in the way the wind is true.” What a great line you have written, Thomas. In my mind, wind is nature’s ‘free spirit.’ As a youngster, I was terrified by the wind after having been in two tornadoes up in South Dakota, as well as a couple of huge dust blown wind storms back in the 50s. My mother had pictures of this huge black cloud (like a wave) coming toward town and when it hit there was no visibility and the dirt even came into the house through cracks and windows.

      Ever since, I have feared the wind but also have learned to respect it and deal with it. I don’t know if you read my post of Dec 31st entitled: The Rusty Ol’ Barn but I added pictures of the July 4th, 1980 twister that destroyed some of the buildings of the farm here in Illinois.

      Thanks for dropping by on occasion, Thomas. I never try to write ‘deep’ in my poems….I’m not sure if I’m that smart. Therefore, most of my poems will be easy to read and usually not about anything that will help anyone with their life except to bring a smile or a laugh or a good feeling about something. I do like metaphors though, and always look forward to your insights.

      Thanks and my best to you and your loved ones,

      tom

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

