Common Ground

I have always wanted to believe that every man (generic usage) shares common ground…..a human being with the same tools and the same bodily functions, separated only by environments and the political/cultural influences of those surroundings.

Of course, in essence, it’s these “influences”  that disperse and obscure the ‘common ground’ traits between us.  Nevertheless, I still hope there are people who would like me for my heart, in spite of my nationality.  It would be great to share ‘common ground’ thoughts  and knowledge with all men of the world.  The future is in it.

Thanks for stopping by…..

 

Common Ground

I reach to you, a common heart,
even though we’re far apart
in where we live or what we do,
in what we think of what we view.

I reach to you for common ground
to share the life that’s all around
the both of us that fills our mind
that gets us through when we are ‘blind.’

I reach to you so we can share
a bit of heart with which we care
if only a dream or a wish that’s close
in innocent thoughts we love the most.

I reach to you to hold your hand
and be your friend and understand
the way of life 
you’ve come to love
and be someone deserving of….

being here and hugged by you
in a far off place with a heart that’s true
that’s warm and free…. not afraid to be
on common ground with a friend, like me.

© copyright 2013  t. j. gargano

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Life, people, world

4 responses to “Common Ground

  1. How beautiful…I felt every stanza evolving from my own heart…
    I love your introduction explaining the poem, but the poem itself took me away. It flowed perfectly and warmingly so. I love this.

Leave a Reply

