Trees in the Forest

Trees in the Forest

 

The trees in the forest that are big and tall
are the trees I envy most of all.
But just because I’m very small….I’m still a tree.

I’ll grow big and tall, someday,
and see the world in a different way
and spread my branches far up in the blue.

To you who helped me grow so tall,
gave me sight, to see the small;
gave me strength to stretch up through it all.

And I will look upon them low
and try to tell them what I know
and hope they learn what’s best of what they see.

See the pretty flowers on the road below?
See the weeds that beside them grow?
They will blossom too, another day.

 

copyright © 2012 T.J. Gargano

4 Comments

Filed under trees

4 responses to “Trees in the Forest

  1. You are becoming my favorite poet!

  2. want to write this down for my two little ones…

Leave a Reply

